New to this nightmare

Hello, I am new to this… My sister’s nightmare just begun within the past month. A PHD student life has been dramatically altered… we had our second episode a few days ago which landed her in a mental hospital here in New Mexico. I have begun my research on this disease which led me here. I just want my little sister back. I hope to find comfort here with families who can relate. Is there hope for a future with this disease? Will she be capable of living on her own again?

5 Likes

@Sharen welcome. I am so sorry that you and your family have to deal with this illness of schizophrenia. There is always a possibility of your sister regaining her stability and being able to live on her own again but you and she are very likely a little ways off from deciding that yet. Everyone is different and every situation is unique. First things first though–getting a good doctor for her that will work closely with her on a good medicine protocol is first, then it will take some time to for her and you to process the changes and differences this illness entails. There is seldom any quick fix. Your sister is lucky to have you in her corner. So long as you have a good doctor working to find the best medicine that works for your sister and so long as she can be as compliant as possible, there is always a great deal of hope for remission of symptoms. An important factor to consider with this illness is stress is an enemy. So some lifestyle changes might possibly be needed down the line to ensure the least stress that is possible and still live as normally as she can. Support is key for both of you individually to stay strong and focused. This forum has a wealth of stories and information that you might find helpful and/or enlightening. I am glad you found it. Best wishes to you and your sister.

5 Likes