How to have hope with a chronic illness?

Hi Everyone,

I’m really new to the chronic illness community. It’s still sinking in with me that my husband has a chronic illness, and I feel completely lost and overwhelmed right now. I apologize in advance for all the wordvomit in this post. I’ll put a tl:dr at the end. I am really uncertain what I am even asking for here. I know other people have it much worse than I/we/he does, and I am trying my best but it never seems like enough.

Background:
My husband, “Thomas,” and I have known each other for 11 years, and been married for almost 3 years. He has had a psychiatric diagnosis for as long as I have known him. He was hospitalized multiple times before he got to college (before I met him), diagnosed with bipolar type II, but was off his medication when I met him at college. In college, we shared many classes together, and bonded over a love of literature and snarky humor. He was brilliant, creative, artsy, antisocial, and weird. He was phenomenal in class- when he showed up, but had a tendency to skip class and climb trees. He managed to graduate, but barely. We stayed friends, and I went to grad school. He struggled for a few years, tried a few jobs, moved back and forth across the country, but ultimately moved home to stabilize. He had been working as a school janitor for about 2 years when we started dating. While we were dating, he had intense moods and bouts of depression, but seemed like he was more or less on an upward trend; we got his credit card debt paid off, he quit his job as a janitor and started working a job he was passionate about. Doing meaningful work seemed to make a huge difference for his outlook, and we started planning for the future. We started talking about marriage, and he wanted to go to graduate school to further his professional ability.