Extended family involvement

Newbie here on this site and also with mental illness in general…
I am the father of a 26 yr. old who is suffering from extreme social anxiety resulting from his major psychotic depression. He is not able to attend any family functions so the “slighted” family members are wondering what is REALLY going on. (Afterall, he can only be “sick” or busy with work only so often…).

How have you all involved your extended family members into your loved one’s situation WITHOUT compromising the latter’s privacy and dignity? Do you only divulge what is absolutely necessary in order to deal with their concerns and desires to help? I wish they could ALL be trusted to not share outside the family but…

2 Likes

I’m sorry that this has happened to your son. I invite my family here and whoever wants to come here for celebrations. My son used to love our family gatherings but the anxiety often will make him stay home now. He missed the family reunion this year. He missed Thanksgiving but made it for Christmas.
I didn’t try to hide his illness from my family. There was odd behavior before and when he was diagnosed at least things began to make sense.
I don’t share every detail with my family as it really doesn’t serve any purpose. My sisters know it is tough but when I have been vulnerable with my oldest sister, she just didn’t know what to say. This forum and knowing people understand what we go through has been my outlet of support.

3 Likes

Hello,

It sounds like you are a pretty private person. I told the small number of people closest to me when my family member became ill. I don’t think there is a lack of dignity in being ill, so that did not occur to me. I do not disclose diagnosis because that is my family member’s information to share. Two of my close people responded in consistent and helpful ways, which doubled the core team. AND the rest of the family is very supportive in their own ways.