My New Role- Questions

Bear with me readers, I’m totally new in figuring out my role…

From the perspective of a visiting sibling: afflicted family member living with family members who know there’s a mental issue but didn’t do their homework to know further on how to communicate and deal with the member who has hallucinations until that person went into complete isolation for long time.

My question, me as the visiting sibling, when can I remind this family member that her hallucinations might be the reason that led her to go into complete isolation and that life can be better and there’s hope? Because once I wrote her a letter saying that I can take her to a doctor and life can be beautiful again and she kicked me out… I mean will my relationship with her be just hi, I love you, gifts, cooking and cleaning for her while I’m there and that’s it?!

1 Like

In all honesty, there will be no way to define your relationship with your family member until you actually visit and assess it in person. With mental illness it is an ever changing canvas even if some symptoms persist. If the rest of the family as you said haven’t done their homework so to speak that makes it a bit more challenging (in my opinion) I would gently try to enlighten your family that is the caregivers to NAMI and their resources and free classes and maybe let them know about the book by Xavier Amador entitled “I’m Not Sick, I Don’t Need Help”. The care giving part of your family may not want help or advice either-or maybe they will.

Aside from that I would try to approach your sibling without any preconceived ideas or expectations. Just a meet and greet to start and then see what he or she feels comfortable with. It could be just a walk or watching a favorite TV show or sharing a simple meal. Even good things like gifts and helping and cleaning etc… can be stressful for the ill person, (my sister is like that)