A Nightmare that I can’t wake up from

Hello everyone. I am new to this platform and I’m really in need of some help. My son is 21 and he has been diagnosed with Schizophrenia. He was on risperidone then abilify. He hates me now because he says I gave him the drugs that gave him brain damage. He no longer takes any of the medication or does therapy. He says risperidone is a neurotoxin and has damaged his brain. He has found so many things online about it and obsesses over it daily. I feel like this started when he read about the issues the medications can cause. He reports no sexual desire, apathy, feeling dead, no motivation, and changes to his body movements. He says the medications lowered his dopamine levels and this is why he is this way now. He refuses to believe his levels can return to normal and says it’s permanent. He is completely socially withdrawn and very suicidal. Stays locked in the room all day. I don’t know what to do and I’m so confused because some of these side effects he reports are also negative symptoms of schizophrenia. The effects started long after he stop taking the medications. Has any one experienced this with their love ones? I did some reading on chronic brain impairment from antipsychotics. I just don’t know what it is cause the symptoms are so similar to negative symptoms. His psychiatric doctor when I asked him questions about brain injury from antipsychotics denied it even exist. Because he says the medications cause brain damage he is refusing to take them and needs them really badly. Please help.

Problem is, there is information about APs causing damage. Robert Whitaker is one author.

In my son’s case quetiapine and olanzapine did much good and he is no longer delusional.

It would be a lot of work but you could try to find articles that show the drugs are safe.