Any advice on preparation for their return?

I am relatively new to all this. My loved one, E, is currently in the hospital being evaluated after a disastrous bout of psychosis. Hopefully E will be medicated and put on a treatment plan. I am thinking it would be smart to prepare the house as much as we can before their eventual return. Looking for ideas from those of you who have been down this road.

We know we are going to have to replace our bedrooms doors and locks so that E can’t break them down again in the future, and I am thinking of getting a mini-fridge for my bedroom so I can protect some of my food supply. (E sometimes thinks things are poisoned and I am concerned they may attempt to throw some of my stuff out.)

What are some of the practical things you all have done to try to protect yourselves and your loved one? Or to head off future issues? Thanks in advance for your thoughts. This community is an invaluable resource.

4 Likes

What I’ve found is that the hospital only keeps them about 9-10 days and they are discharged while still psychotic. They might be on more meds, but meds alone don’t totally stop a psychotic episode in my experience.

There was always trouble immediately after coming home. Maybe a little less trouble because of the increased meds from the hospital, but still trouble.

Months followed after release with once per week psychiatrist visits and maybe more telephone calls in the first week or two. His psychiatrist increased my son’s meds further until he was stabilized (less paranoid). That’s really the goal: stabilization. And that didn’t happen with the short 10-day stays for both psychotic episodes.

My only advice would be to make sure your relative and yourself have a good working relationship with your relative’s psychiatrist and to work closely with them to achieve stabilization.

3 Likes