Aristada Initio injection

My son was given Aristada Initio injection on 4/17/20 but its not working for him,its causing a lot of issues
He got 675 mg followed by 662 mg !
Anybody can tell me how long would it take until this medicine leaves his body?
They told me that next injection’s date is 5/12/20 so if he doesn’t take it would he have withdrawal symptoms?

This is effectively Abilify ( Aripiprazole) in injectable form which has a very long half-life in pill form. So effects of the medication will take some time to dissipate likely a week or two or more after the next scheduled injection. I wouldn’t expect there to be much in the way of withdrawal other than it losing its antipsychotic effect over time. In my experience this is more gradual than you might think, especially if you are stable.

I have no experience with injectable AP medication, however. This going by my experience with transitions between various pill-base AP medications. An important point for caregivers to realize is these medications don’t usually behave like a switch. When I’ve talked to psychiatrists about transitioning between medications, they tend not to be less concerned about overlaps and withdrawals than I am. At least for me it was more of a psychological factor of anxiety about the transitions than the psychopharmacology.

Everyone is different, so I’d advise consulting a doctor, nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant to confirm for your situation.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply
The medicine is causing serious side effects
Mania,difficulty or inability to urinate,loss of appetite,self harm tendencies insomnia agitation and restlessness akathsia headaches masklike face,…

Sorry to hear this. It’s unfortunate that it’s a long acting formula. To my knowledge there is no reversing agent. There is a very serious side effect from Abilify called NMS (Neuroleptic Malignant Syndrome) off hand it doesn’t sound like this is his issue, but again I stress you should seek medical advice.