BF with Schizophrenia

Hello! I am new to this support group, and could really use some help. There is probably going to be a lot in here so I’ll do my best to break it down into sections. If you don’t want to read the whole thing, my questions are in bold at the bottom.

Intro/ Relationship Background
My boyfriend and I met in college last fall and we were friends for about a year before this past fall semester we started getting closer. He was really sweet and attentive, always texting and snapchatting me, being the first person to reach out, wanting to hang out a lot, and being extremely charming and romantic, and when he mentioned he had schizophrenia I didn’t think anything of it, as I knew he was medicated for it. I finally asked him out right before winter break and was so ecstatic when he said yes! Mutually, we agreed not to tell our families until we are ready, as we wanted to experience “us” without worrying about how they would react.
However, come spring semester things got pretty difficult.

BF’s Background
For the sake of ease, I am going to refer to my BF as C
C has been diagnosed with Schizophrenia since he was about 5. His symptoms (that I know of) are mainly psychosis and hearing voices. On top of that he has diagnosed anxiety, depression, ADHD, insomnia, bipolar (again, that I know of), and is a recovered suicide survivor. From what I understand, he is medicated for these however I do not know what specific meds he takes. He is also allergic to gluten, nuts, legumes, and beans. As far as I know, he is not in therapy of any kind and has no intentions of doing so. He has his own traumas and a pretty rough childhood, and as such tends to keep things to himself and not like to rely on others for anything, however he did start letting me in around when we started dating.

My Background