Daughters first psychotic episode - please someone help!

I am overwhelmed, hopeless, and unsure of how to handle my daughter. She is 28 and has a diagnosis of bipolar disorder. PTSD from sexual abuse from birth family. She was ordered to complete a prison substance abuse program and while she was there had a psychotic break. She was in isolation for three months before they ruled her mentally incompetent to complete the program and discharged her on Feb 4. She now has extreme paranoia and delusions. After much effort and crisis, she was admitted to a mental hospital. They are releasing her on Tuesday, but she is still paranoid and still delusional. I have voiced my concerns to the doctors and have received no feedback. I have no experience with this behavior. I am scared. She hallucinates. Has called the sheriff to report nonexistent people in our backyard and thinks our beloved friend and neighbor is trying to harm her. She says she is not certain that I am her mother because my face and voice keeps changing. She says I have five different faces. We live in a very small rural town. The sheriff and judge and everyone know her. But it sounds like there is not much that can be done.

I have read on a few posts about people letting their loved ones go because they can no longer live with them safely. But where would they go?

I have experienced several people in my life with Alzheimers. Her behavior is much the same. You would not let an Alzheimers patient go. There are places for them. But where would my daughter go? This is not her fault. She is not doing this intentionally. She is very sick.

I dont know what to do or where to turn

Hi Katee,

Welcome to the forum, I am sorry that circumstances in your daughter’s life have you seeking help.

Your daughter’s diagnosis is bipolar and she recently had her first psychotic episode while in a prison substance abuse program?