ECT and Paranoid schizophrenia

Im my brothers treatment decision maker. He suffers from paranoid schiziphrenia for many years now. His team now reccomends ECT. ( Electroconvulsive Therapy) has anyone had someone have someone go through ECT for paranoid schizophrenia ? Was it helpful ? Did they have side effects like memory lose ? Did it help their condition ?

1 Like

I have no personal experience with this therapy. My son did well with the clozapine which was referred to as the “last resort” medication. I suppose if he had not responded so well my next consideration may have been the ECT. I understand from my research that the process is much safer today than it was years ago so that is good to know and I found this article that I hope helps in some way. I understand the responsibility you have and the decisions you have to make. Get as much feedback as you are able to and research as much as you can until you feel you can make the right decision. Might I ask if your brother has ever been on clozapine and if so how that went? I wish you and your brother all the best going forward. https://www.psychiatryadvisor.com/schizophrenia-and-psychoses/schizophrenia-ect-effective-treatment-cognitive-improvement/article/666780/

Thanks for your help. Yes hes been and still is on clozapine and has been for awhile now. It has helped to some degree but he will relapse and symptoms will return. They have played with dosing and adding other medication but again he will be good for a period of time and than revert back to a psycotic state and have to return to hospital. In the last two years hes been hospitalized at least 6 times. Hes been in hospital now 44 days and ECT is what the recommendation is as well as medication

1 Like