Worse after ECT. What now?

After 8 ECT treatments more delusional and confused than he has been since starting treatment. And the auditory hallucinations are still there too. After everything else he has been through now he needs to recover from the treatments. It has been 2 weeks since the last one. Does anybody have any experience with a situation like this? Any suggestions to help his brain recover?

Do short-term memory exercises with him. That is the largest side effect of ECT - poor short-term memory.

I thought ECT was used only for people with untreatable depression these days. I guess I was wrong. I’ve seen it help people who were depressed.

I’ve been receiving ECT treatments for almost three years for my sz. I’m sorry he’s getting worse. For me the meds just didn’t do it, but ECT gave me my life back. I went from living in psychosis to getting glitches when I’m stressed. I still haven’t been able to go longer than 6 weeks without a treatment, but there was a time I couldn’t go one week. So I’m doing better. Maybe they could try a different side of his head. I get mine on the right side. Good luck. :sun_with_face:

**Hi @mamakaye~~
What does the doctor say about this??
Has he tried any kind of meds before? **

The ECT doctors would not try unilateral treatments. Said that would not work for psychosis. But it is working for SunGirl. He was on medication during treatments. ECT doctors at this reputable facility do not do follow up.

That’s weird they wouldn’t do unilateral. That’s what I’ve been getting and I’m doing awesome. I’ve heard if they do bilateral it causes more side effects so they don’t start off with that. I would be persistent in calling to talk to someone, because mine was purely for psychosis and it worked. :sun_with_face: