How do I get someone to believe they have schizophrenia?

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I have found much comfort in this community. My husband of 15 years has schizophrenia. He refuses to believe that his delusions are just that. He fully believes the delusions are real. No matter what I do or say he will not waiver in this. He believes I have issues remembering. How do I approach him and get him to understand he needs to seek treatment and get some help. This has been going on for close to 4 years now and I’m at the end of my rope. I want him to get the treatment and help he needs but I don’t know how to get him to see or understand he is not well. Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hi AShell13-
I understand how you feel- when my sza son first began talking about his fears (neighbors wanting to kill him, spyware planted in his phone, people following him) I also tried in vain to convince him that they weren’t real. It is so painful to see your loved one so obviously terrified.
It is an exercise in frustration though to try to convince someone who is experiencing psychotic delusions that their senses are lying to them. I think that the best hope lies in medication and the help of a care team. You can apply the communication methods described in Amador’s book, “I’m not sick I don’t need help” to try to convince your husband to seek help. Has he been diagnosed? Is he not seeing a psychiatrist at all?

7 Likes

He has not been officially diagnosed. I have kept a daily journal of the things he’s told me and consulted with many medical professionals. Everyone agrees he is most likely schizophrenic. He doesn’t trust doctors due to his delusions and he refuses to seek treatment or take any kind of medication. Some of his delusions include situations where I was present and when I tell him that it didn’t happen that way he gets upset with me because he feels like I don’t believe him. It is absolutely heartbreaking to see him like this.

1 Like