I need some help with my friend who could potentially have schizophrenia

Hiya I need some urgent advice about my friend who I think may have schizophrenia but obviously I’m not a doctor and don’t have it myself so I need some advice please.
He has said for a while he hears voices but his mother is a psychic so has always said he’s inherited that so it’s his ‘psychic side’ that’s speaking to him. I’ve always be dubious about that as it don’t fully believe all that, I’m more for the science side. So yeah he heard voices and this is what he said to me "They’re just slagging everyone off. And putting me down. And saying shit like they actually hate you, they don’t want you here."
He’s also said that when he lies about something we completely forgets about the situation, like it’s never even happened to him, until it gets rebought up ad them remembers everything "I forget everything and its not that i don’t want to do it, its the fact I physically have no knowledge of it till I’m reminded "

thought i would say hi.
if your friend is troubled by the voices he should seek some help, family doctor…etc.
good on you for reaching out to help your friend.
have a good one.
take care

Hi @Jade1

There are other disorders that can cause voices. This link gives the criteria for schizophrenia.

http://www.dnalc.org/view/899-DSM-IV-Criteria-for-Schizophrenia.html

Is your friend seeking help?

Thank you for the link I shall read through it. He is too scared to go see someone as he is only 16 so feels like everyone will judge him and that he’ll loose a lot of friends due to it. I have said it is vital that we go see his GP or something, am I correct in doing this? And if so should I try make him go asap? @BarbieBF