My Son shaved off his eyebrows

My son has recently been diagnosed with schizophrenia affective disorder. I’m just learning about it.

He shaved his entire head and eyebrows off the other day. It broke my heart. He couldn’t describe why he did it. It was impulsive. Not due to hearing voices.

It was the first time I could actually SEE his mental illness… It was clear.

I’m just wondering if anyone has similar experiences.

Thanks,
Sangria

1 Like

I have not had that experience w my loved one.
But wanted to say that his hair will grow back😊Don’t worry too much. Hopefully this delusion will pass and you can find out what is going on with him.

1 Like

That happened with my son, too! Just his head, though. I helped him and did it for him so it wouldn’t be too short. But he wanted it shorter so he did it himself some more. That was the day (that evening) he was hospitalized for the first time. I was glad because he needed to be watched and given the right medication.

Did your son just do it yesterday? Does he pace or run around in the house?

Mine lets his hair grow long, it curls as it grows. On some days he rubs his head frequently - as though his head hurts him - which makes his hair stand out and gives him an Einstein hair look. He will suddenly cut it himself, super short, using scissors.

1 Like

My son has done the same!

Yes my son did this too, at the beginning of the illness. I remember how hard it was seeing him everyday…a visual reminder of his brain disorder…a deep sadness. But, it did grow back. He only did it that once, and looking back I realize that everything he did then was a reminder of what he and I were dealing with. It was just another symptom. Stay strong.

Our son gets dandruff really easily, which then turns into a smelly skin condition. The dr gave him a shampoo that helps.

BUT, he does not like to bathe.

Then, he will.
And he will insist I shave his hair off.

Now! It’s hurting.
It probably is.

He never has long hair. It’s always shaved.