Family and Caregiver Schizophrenia Discussion Forum

Oxytocin is life changing for us

I am no expert, but I wanted to share that oxytocin nasal spray has been life changing for us. I liken it to insulin for a diabetic, in our case.

It is no cure, but it allows my son to be more comfortable, less symptomatic, generally keeps us out of public crisis. That said, he needs help to take it— would probably not left on his own— and it needs to be every few hours ( 4-6?)… so not at all convenient. AND it has to be refrigerated… even less convenient… AND it’s very expensive.

Realistically, ok, he can not take care of himself…he can not clean or remember to do things, in general. But he seems to be able to act normal for brief amounts of time and enjoy some things he could not participate in before …all .depends on my factors. Kinda like if your kid is interested in miniature trains, but previously could not go to an exhibit comfortably, but with the spray, can go ( not drive or organize event in any way , but still…) and have enjoyment and interact with people. I need to either be with him or be near by in a few hours to insure compliance… and sometimes he waits too long, and we have mini- crisis…but he knows we can get the spray - and it will help, not 100 percent, but hugely.

He has side effects from the meds he was on, and we may try more, but the will be the main treatment at this time… we have only been at this less than a year, so… I’m sure This whole situation will be evolving.

This Rx is compounded by a sterile licensed compounding pharmacy. And, if shipped, must be packed cold. It’s all inconvenient, but it’s where we are at.

It’s great to see all these posts! I have been a relatively isolated parent juggling an adult w a schizo diagnosis and all that goes with that and the rest of life. Glad to have found you all…