Schizophrenia and Jail

I am new to this, both to schizophrenia.com and schizophrenia in general, so please bear with me I will try to make it short.

My brother had a breakdown about two years ago and has never been the same since. Throughout that time he has been in two different mental facilities on a 5150 hold and has been diagnosed with bipolar 2. However it always seemed like there was more going on. At the beginning of this year he started admitting to us (his family) that he hears voices. His episodes started to become more frequent and everything just seemed to get worse.

He has never committed to taking medication or seeking help and our family never insisted on it because we didn’t want to push him away. Within the past couple of months he started to self medicate with alcohol and was arrested for a DUI and is now currently in jail for his second DUI and pending conviction for assault on an officer.

He has been in there for a month now and I am so afraid for him. I just saw him two days ago and he was going through a really bad episode. He is suicidal, he is already hurting himself in there because he has marks all on his arm when I saw him. It is hurting him to be in there but I am so lost as to what to do. I don’t understand why the physiatrist they have there is not doing anything. I am just so lost and scared for him and feel so helpless because I don’t know what I can do for him.

I know this was a lot to read and I don’t blame anyone for skimming or not reading it. But I appreciate any help/comments/thoughts anyone might have.

The psychward is like prison. i was there for half a year and it was worse than prison 'cause at least while in prison you have your sanity.