Some people are not in the system and shouldn't be, but they deserve help too

Anyone else have a situation like that? What can be done when nobody cares about you as a caregiver and all the usual advice about Adult Protective Services etc… is not appropriate, and when it turns out that the terrible utter loneliness (such as mine in this role) in good people is never really seen as a big deal… ?

And then the lack of empathy for the caregiver’s humanity by the person himself… can really really be devastating, So am I the only one here in that situation? I desperately need caregiver help, and that cannot involve consulting the “system”, or taking him, age 70, to a “senior center” or to SC Anonymous (fraudulent racket the way they run it here, attended once and will not return) …

I am not wrong about the problem (I have been a student of this subject for decades) but I have been totally betrayed by everyone I have reached out to so far…including on this forum.

I also know that mega B vitamins and other supplements can help greatly, who knows enough about the what’s and the why’s of this alternative approach… so we can maybe talk privately or on the forum? (btw to the person who wanted me to think I was not signed in, I could not have written this if I were not, thanks anyway, would much prefer a real response to what I am saying…)

Its very hard for caregivers - I agree. I think what most people here do is just seek help and support from support groups like this, or support groups like those provided by NAMI in cities around the US (and by Schizophrenia Society of Canada, in Canada).

Also - people seek support from doctors and therapists too - because there are very few people who really understand what its like to be a full-time caregiver for a person with schizophrenia. Its frequently stressful and difficult.

2 Likes