Daughter Is Now in a Group Home

My daughter is out of the hospital and in a group home. She called me last night asking me to buy her cigarettes and I basically told her - no I will not buy you cigarettes…please do not call me… I love you and now is a good opportunity for you to focus on your health. I’m not going help you because when I help you I’m actually hurting you.

It was a very brief conversation and for me very painful, but I am so relieved that she is not on the streets and safe in a group home where she belongs.

5 Likes

That’s good, I’m really glad that’s she safe somewhere she can potentially get better and move forward with life so that she can be more “together.”

3 Likes

I’m glad she’s there too and you really are supporting her health by not buying her cigarettes.

All best to you.

2 Likes

Glad shes safe. Take some time for you.

2 Likes

How did you get her in a group home? I am new in this and am needing some help bad with my daughter.

1 Like

Good for you for setting the boundaries

It’s been a very long journey and I could no longer have her live in my home and living alone for my daughter is not a good option. She needs support living. I’ve been at it for long time – 14 years since she was first diagnosed and about 18 years since I first noticed something was wrong. Honestly I don’t know how it happened except that the police were called numerous times to my house – most of the calls to the police were from her and she telling the police that she needed to go to the hospital – so I had a lot of documentation. Also I came to a point where I did not want her in my. home. I’m raising her two small children - 5 & 9 and then with her there it seemed like I was taking care of five two year olds. It became an impossible situation. So the last time she called the police I told them please do not bring her back because she will call you folks every month and its costing tax payers at least $20,000 a month.