Daughter of paranoid SZ, surviving college w/mentally ill parent

I’m in my last year of college getting my bachelors in nursing (I’m 21). My dad with paranoid schizophrenia had a severe stroke a month ago. I have been struggling in my studies knowing his health status is so low. I live 3 hours away from him and work/go to school full time. I have been reminiscing about him and missing him so much. I live on my own and haven’t seen him since I went to college at 18 yrs. He’s afraid of technology and does not know how to use computers/cellphones (he’s 65 also). He and I have been through rough spots, but he’s the only family member I have. I’m so worried about my dad. I love him so much. This is my finals week and I’m planning on seeing him at the end of the month. Any ideas about how to cope?

1 Like