Holidays and delusions

This is just a quick question for those of you who’ve been dealing with this much longer than I have or for those of you that have this challenge. I have found one of his biggest triggers is social norms. Anything conventional like holidays, convention or tradition sets him off especially if he thinks I am challenging him. Question. With this illness I know delusions are often a major issue. Is the expectation other have vs the reality they ‘see’ in what should be just delusional thinking and being challenged as he would see it stressful?

I’m relatively new to this as well. But I think challenging the person’s reality, aka their delusions in this case, is stressful to them. And I think if it happens a lot, that would make it even more stressful.

2 Likes

Hi GEORGE, could you expand on this - what are you doing or saying when you think he feels “challenged”.

The holidays and traditional gatherings are high stress events for everyone, even the neurotypical folks struggle to not be stressed out from the holidays. Family to Family teaches us to be aware that our neurodiverse family members are much more sensitive. In class they stressed that change is a huge stress event. All changes, not just bad changes any changes. Simple routine disruptions can be major issues for our family members.

From my perspective and listening to others on the forum, there is no “just” in delusional thinking. Some of the delusions are hardwired and many people have reported on the forum that even being on meds often does not lessen some delusions. I guess I am trying to say we have to be respectful of delusions - just as we would of an elderly uncle saying unusual things at the holiday dinner due to his dementia.

2 Likes

I’m not sure I’m answering your question but I was told early on that when anxiety goes up, so does paranoia.

2 Likes