I need help with my Mother!

I am new to this and currently trying to figure how to handle this situation in the best way possible for everyone. My mother and I got into a heated argument and fight the other night. She pulled a gun on my boyfriend threaten to shot him.

I was terrified, I acted immediately, I was able to get the gun out her hands and contain her. She went off the handle with cussing and calling me names, she has never done such a thing or made any suggestion of this before. She then at one point threatened to kill herself. I was able to restrain her enough to calm her down, unfortunately I had to let her go to call the cops.

She took off in her vehicle, driving extremely fast. This is me putting my foot down, for everyone’s safety. I believe this my mother cry for help. I do not know how to help her, so this me asking anybody with advice PLEASE!

My mother has had a history with depression, drug abuse (pain medication), and at times has anger issues. She has seemed more isolated than usual, believes her husband (my stepfather) hates her, people at work don’t get her and are after her or plotting against her.

She is extremely negative and pessimistic. Nothing seems to make her happy, she sits and watches tv all the time it seems. When we have been at parties or social events with friends, I have noticed she will stare off and zone out. She sleeps all the time!! Claims she doesn’t sleep at night, but can doze off while sitting at the table and have her face laying the plate. She just recently lost her mother this past july, and is what seems always a fight with my stepfather. Says outlandish things that are extremely dark and then tells me that I should forget she said that.