My daughter tried to commit suicide New Year's Eve

Well, the general consensus is that it was really a cry for help. But she had a 72-hour hold, part of the time in ICU to monitor her breathing, after taking a bunch of Ativan pills. During which time she got violent on more than one occasion and had to be restrained by security. Today was the first day she seemed more herself but was sent to New York-Presbyterian in White Plains, only because the hospital we were at is affiliated with them. Not because it was best for my daughter. I wanted her to go to Four Winds because she’s familiar with the facility and the doctors there will consult with her psychiatrist. I spoke with her twice, she’s very scared. It’s breaking my heart and I don’t know what to do.

3 Likes

Im pretty new to this form but I just wanted to say that Im so very sorry.
Thank God you were able to intervene.

1 Like

I am so sorry for the suicide attempt. Ideas: Notify her regular psychiatrist. Be persistent but polite with giving your daughter’s history to the current hospital (written records are ideal). They will likely ignore you initially for anything more than that. Do they know her meds? Or they may change the meds. The fact that she is talking with you is good. Remain her advocate and friend. Listen to her. Ask for a family meeting before she is discharged. Get support for yourself if you don’t already have it through an organization like NAMI.

1 Like

Oh, I am so sorry this happened. Sometimes you must roll with whatever is happening, like the current hospital. I had good success with faxing information to the doctor whenever my daughter was force hospitalized. The hospital staff appreciate the information. Did your daughter sign a release allowing you to talk to her nurses?