Newbie to this World - Son 15 years diagnosed with Psychosis

Hello :wave:,

I am new to this world, live in Toronto, Canada, my son 15 years old was diagnosed with Psychosis/ Schizophrenia. Short long story, we were suffering with him since 2 years and none of the Doctors can proper diagnosed him till recently (few months ago);

He is suffering from delusion, hallucinations, breaking up from reality, talking to him self, laughing too much with no one talked to him or watching anything funny, we had admitted him 3 times to hospital due to Pshycosis episodes due to losing control on him, he was trying to kill himself / hurt parents/family members, throwing staff left and right. So first they put him on Remeron for 7 months and didn’t work for him, then the last episode was very tough and was diagnosed with Psychosis and start 3 types of medicine (Quetiapine, Olanzapine) and all gave him a hard side effects, now he is on Abilify 10 mg for the last 2 weeks, my questions are:

1- will he be back to normal life? As he now on dellution and Hallucination
2- is the medication will work for him?
3- he lost all his friends and social connections, school is doing very bad, no concentration with zero academic?

Is this something normal for what he was diagnosed? Any input or thoughts to make it easy on me to understand what is going on ?

2 Likes

Hello @maherc and welcome. I also answered on your first post on the other thread. To answer your questions:

1. Maybe / maybe not. Usually a person afflicted by sz is quite changed by the illness and never goes back to “normal”. However, what is call a “new normal” is reached, and each step to a better life is quite a win in this war against sz.
  2. Often different medicines are tried. Sometimes one works better than all the others. Sometimes none work well. It is sad that it is such a trial and error process.