Almost adult daughter w Schizoaffective & Autism

Hello, I am new to this blog. My daughter Cathy, who is almost 18 is Schizoaffective & Autistic. She was diagnosed with Autism age 9 and Schizoaffective last year. Its been a challenge to find the right medication for her. It has been a challenging 2 years for her and all our family. Been trying to find the right psychiatrist for her but unfortunately where we live not many options. Resources are very limited. She has a great psychologist she has been seeing for 8 yrs now. I realize we are not alone and their is many families that are experiencing what we are. Just wanted to say Hi! -Tina.

4 Likes

Hello Tina, I am diagnosed with schizophrenia and autism. However, my diagnosis of autism came at the age of 28, so that means my autism did not interfere significantly with my daily life and is relatively mild. Technically my diagnosis is aspergers but that is included with autism now.

3 Likes

Welcome Tina! This forum is an excellent resource for support and information. We are glad you are here.

2 Likes

Thank you for reaching out💜

1 Like

I have an idea that SZ and autism combined has its own unique challenges. Thank you for sharing with us! Would you mind sharing some additional information about what has worked well for you, or any other suggestions? I know of a few people that have similar situations.

1 Like