Antibodies that may be the cause of schizophrenia in some people

Hi all,

Haven’t posted here for a while, still coping with my wifes sz and hoping that one day things will get better!

For anyone in the UK, there was a BBC2 program a couple of days ago (Trust Me, I’m a Doctor : Mental Health Special) that had a small piece on a study that’s been carried out by Dr Belinda Lennox.

There’s a bit more about it on this website:

The premise is that some people may have been mis-diagnosed with sz, when it’s really a blood disorder causing the voices/halucinations/paranoia. With the right treatment, people who have been diagnosed with sz have been pretty much cured of all their symptoms and have returned to how they were before becoming ill…!

I’ve contacted the Oxford University Psychiatry team today to see if they are still carrying out this study (website is from a year ago), and to see if my wife can be tested for these antibodies.

I don’t want to raise anyones hopes, but has anyone (UK or US) heard of this/had experience of this?

The BBC program it was on is well respected, as is the University of Oxford - I can’t believe they would have let this come out if it wasn’t true.

4 Likes

I just watched the programme. As you said, the info about the study was from december 2016 so i was gonna ask my son to speak to his Dr about having the bllood test. I would love to hear if you get a response from the team at oxford uni.
My son is distancing himself from me and increasingly hostile. It would be nothing short if a miracle if this turns out to help anyone with this hellish condition.

2 Likes

Miracle is the right word! If this really is a ‘cure’ for certain people with sz, I’m amazed it hasn’t been headline & front page news considering all the mental health stories that have emerged this year.