Attitude to family

Hiya, I’m new to understanding schizophrenia. I want to know why schizophrenics are often hostile to family members and much less so to friends. Beyond the explanation that people in general tend to take stuff out on people closer to them, are there any other explanations?

1 Like

I agree that sz are or behave worse with family. That’s why I cant live with my sz stepson. He starts arguments with everyone in the house and the tension builds and builds. He even called the police on us because we asked him to smoke outside. I have noticed lately that he has gotten more and more agressive and disrespectful to us and everyone. Note though that he refuses any help, any meds, which is very sad cuz I think his life would be so much better than it is now. He is 32 and been off his meds for about 5 years. I think he has gone downhill so far and hard.

All my stepson wants is money to buy cigeretts and smoke where ever he wants. I feel he stalks our house hoping to break in if we leave. One thing I feel him staying with us wont work.

Alexe, I think it’s because people with this illness tend to develop paranoid delusions about the people they spend the most time with or have the most history with. These are the people who end up being the “triggers” or “targets”.

1 Like

Day-by-day, thanks for this. I’m beginning to understand now. That’s exactly what we feel as a family about my brother. Do you have any advice about what to do when we are being pushed away. I feel so desperately lost in all of this.