Children of Schizophrenic / Schizoaffective Parents, How do you find the strength to keep fighting for them?

I’m new to sharing my story in a forum. I should have done this sooner after reading some posts. My mom has schizoaffective disorder. It started when I was 7 years old and I am now 30.

It was a very rough time back then. First there was only sadness that I saw in her and lot of tears. Soon after she told me about how my Dad got killed, murdered, and the man in front of me is just a copy, not real, but here to harm me. She told me about many men standing in front of our house ready to unalive us, the moment we would step out. I was very afraid as a child. But my dad was there to explain it all to me. Even Though he got upset a lot, he still managed to make me understand that this is not my mom talking but rather her brain not working correctly. When she finally turned hostile against me, by planning to jump off a bridge, my dad took me and we moved out. She came to my school a bit later, looking for me and when my teacher wanted to take control of the situation and put me in front of her, my mom cried. Stating that I have passed too and I am only a copy of the real child she has lost.

These are actually the very few clear memories I have from my childhood. She did therapy afterwards and she also got medications. She believed she had a “Nervous breakdown”. She was mad that my dad moved away and an 11 year custody battle followed after.