Destroys cell phones

Not sure if my last post went through so this may be a repeat. In the last 12 months my schizoaffective son has destroyed his cell phone 4 X and a couple of lap tops.

It’s expensive as I have paid for them. I hate for him to be even more isolated but I don’t think he is learning to stop himself or can’t help it.

Anyone else deal with this insanity ?

Thanks.

Indeed. I gave up on laptops for a while, and tried to keep phones insured, or went with the cheapest ones around.

My son also trashed 2 laptops and at least 2 cell phones. I am glad he has been conserved and in a Locked facility for 8 months now…
I have been working 2 jobs for the last 4 years to keep my finances above water.
I would say get a cheap Laptop/cell phone. they have them on Ebay, Bestbuy, Amazon,etc…

There are some pretty cheap cell phones, fifteen to twenty dollars. These I make sure are available.

I waited about a year a half to replace a broken computer. Living without was okay.

My son has broken a phone in the past. Is your son. perhaps, trying to fix it and is actually breaking it?

My son broke his cell phone and his xbox. He regretted it because we didn’t have the money to replace them. He eventually bought a new cell phone with his own money and he got cheaper Xbox for his birthday.

He also destroyed an old wooden chair in his room. I have warned him that I will call the police if he gets out of control. I’m not sure if that’s right but since he’s a man and I’m home alone with him, I feel safer having some recourse for his actions. These things happened a few years ago before his dx and, thankfully, he has not had outbursts in quite some time.

1 Like

Insurance covered the first 3 but then he was dropped. Even the copay is not cheap. I am not aware of how to get a cheap phone compatible w Verizon. He has done it when he skipped a “ few pills”.

Hearing voices.
Pia.

Thanks.