How do I cope with my boyfriend schizophrenia and his episodes?

Hi, this is my first time here, and my first language is not english. I reaching out for support on how to cope with my boyfriend pre-pschycosis (prodromal maybe). We are both in the late 40s and been together for 4 years. He got his schizophrenic diagnosis 20 years ago.

My boyfriend has paranoid schizophrenia and are on meds, but the dose has been reduced 3 years ago, and he has become more unstable since then. The relationship has been great, we both agree, and he can’t say it enough how much he loves me. And it’s the best relationship he ever had. Our relationship and I is the most important in his life. And I love him so much!

In January he broke up with me for the second time, this time because I said that I needed a break to recover myself. Last autumn has been a bit rough, because my boyfriend has been angry for little things and irritated in generally. He has increased his activity level this last autumn, maybe that has something to do with this.

When he broke up, he had this strange/odd aura or mindset over him, like he had no feelings, his warm personality disappeared and his emotions became flat. He also got a strange belief that he is only going to do his studies and the church. It was like he turned to be different, and our relationship become something that he could put away, like it was a practical thing. He speaks to me like I am a stranger, he is not in contact with his feelings and personality. It’s like something is disappeared inside him. Is this the flat effect? A part of the negative symptoms?