Laws protecting mentally ill from being supplied with alcohol or street drugs

Apparently there aren’t any. At least I can’t find any reference to one.

I guess I’m having a hard time with this so bear with my rant. I’m just getting tired of my son coming back from the neighbors under the influence of alcohol and/or marijuana and it doesn’t look like there is anything that I can do to stop it. :frowning:

afaik it is against the law to take advantage of the mentally handicapped. At least that is what my social worker told someone who was taking advantage of me. The person had to give my money back and not take anymore from me. I have a budget and have to show what/where my money is going since i am not good with money.

So my suggestion would be to ask your social worker or get a social worker appointed to help you. I would think if someone knows your son is mentally ill they would not be giving things bad for his health.

Is he underage?

I don’t like the idea of another law, prohibiting the legal use of alcohol, restricting the mentally ill.

No he is not underage. I guess that is a big part of my frustration. Understanding his rights while at the same time trying to avoid another relapse.

I just talked to the friends father and gave him a letter stating my concerns so hopefully they will try to limit what they are giving him as they won’t be the ones trekking to the hospital every day.

That is a bold move. I applaud you. Was he receptive?

I hope this Dad gets on your side, since you’re not the one taking the friend to the hospital either.

Receptive yes. Said it will stop today. I made my expectations clear 8+ months ago and several times since then but here we are. Hoping for the best though.

This dad is OK with his own mentally ill son smoking pot in his flat? Wow that blows me way.

The dad smokes and drinks too. :frowning: