Living with my schizophrenic wife and children that I love all of them

If you are a husband and your wife got Schizophrenia and you have a baby
and a child under 6 years, how do you cope to keep your family together
and to no give up ??? I need help pleeeeease. I love my family .

Martin

2 Likes

Martin,

I have a son with sz so I can not speak from your perspective. I think you’d have to have clear boundaries of what’s okay and what’s not to protect your family’s safety. Get a therapists or doctor’s help to negotiate these with your wife, if needed, and set clear expectations. Without boundaries, I think we’re all a bit screwed. BTW, I’m new to this idea so implementing them slowly :slight_smile: Hugs

1 Like

I am sorry to hear of your stressful situation. I am married to husband for 30 and he is sz. We have children who are adults. I hope your wife is on medication, if not she needs to be. My husband has never been violent or inappropriate with our children. I hope this is the same for you, if not you need to protect your children at all costs. I believe it is important for you to have some type of respite and support. Maybe a family member can help with children? Maybe your state has an agency that provides assistance with respite? I am sure that both of you are stressed out with two little ones to care for. Please call and reach out to your local NAMI as they would be able to provide you with more information in reference to your area. I hope that others can offer you some advice and support. God bless.

3 Likes