My wife might have schizophrenia... Now what?

Recently my wife spontaneously developed auditory hallucinations and paranoia. Her doctors all think there’s an organic cause creating psychological symptoms, but no one is really sure what it is yet and so we don’t know how to treat it. It’s also possible she spontaneously developed schizophrenia at 40yo with no history or family history of mental illness, so that’s something I need to prepare for and what life will be like.

For the last month I worked from home to care for her and help her cope with the delusions and hallucinations, and it was fine. I’m a social worker by trade so I knew a lot of skills and tools, though it wouldn’t have been a good long term solution obviously. Then came the psychosis, and when I became worried she would accidentally hurt herself, I had to take her to the ER and she has recently been admitted to a medpsych unit and is working with neurology and psychiatry to determine the cause and treatment.

My question isn’t about what she will be like with the disease, I’ve seen that. What I can’t seem to find are personal experiences of people whose spouses developed the disease after being married for a long time, what was their relationship like? Assuming I can ensure she takes her medication, and she goes to her therapy, some of the side effects of these medications mention inability to show emotions, or inability to connect with people, or lack of intimacy.

Should I expect that? Is that common? Will my once loving, caring, beautiful soul of a wife be distant and emotionless and not wanting to be hugged and held and loved? I’m less worried about the disease it seems and more worried about how she will be when the disease is managed.