New at this and more than a little scared

Hi everyone,

This is my first time on a message board so looking forward to this experience (as I type this in tears :slight_smile:

My husband - we’ve been together since we were 16 (I’ll leave my current age a mystery) - we’ve been together for a life time.

He was, even back in high school, a bit paranoid but nothing really came of it - he wasn’t upset or let it interfere with life. But the last four or so years have been really hard. The paranoia is getting as bad as it could - he thinks the Police are out to get us (stealing our mail, watching him etc), He thinks my friends are all using me, he thinks my company has nefarious intentions etc.

He cannot hold a job and cannot keep deep relationships with friends (mostly b/c he doesn’t trust them). He was hospitalized last October (involuntary hold). We went to the hospital together (although begrudgingly on his end) - they ended up keeping him and putting him in a facility. After he got out he had major issues with being locked up - he was sexually abused as a kid and this brought all the helplessness and lack of control. To be fair I think so much of this is rooted in trauma so the trauma from the abuse was already there - not being able to leave the facility just exacerbated it.

He was put on Zoloft and Olanzapine (sp) - I don’t think the Zoloft did much but the Olanzapine helped to calm him down and focus - still couldn’t get a job but could do things around the house and be fine in public - he still had his paranoia of course but was managing and not freaking out all the time.

The mental health care he was receiving was horrible. The woman who was supposed to diagnose and have talk therapy kept forgetting who he was and got him confused with other people. She never actually did talk therapy with him and it was NOT trauma informed whatever she was doing. Thus we had no diagnoses.