New Diagnosis

My husband was recently diagnosed with this horrible disease. We have been married. 10 yrs and have 6 amazing children . The day my husband started telling me stories of people wanted to get him ,being followed ect i was concerned but then it turned into me hiding things or him saying he seen me with another man or heard voices i/ the background when he called me i was upset im new to this and don’t know how to react without him feeling like im against him. I guess im just looking for a way to feel like i have people in the same position as me to provide me with some insight.

Schizophrenia and mental illness in general can be very exasperating to deal with. To the schizophrenic person it seems like he is reasonable, and everyone else is behaving badly. It is extremely difficult to talk to an sz. Most of the time he will not yield to reason. Try to get your husband on medication. You might have to put him in the hospital to do this. Try to get him to make small admissions about his mental state. In lucid moments you might get him to agree to get help and take med’s. Med’s are crucial. In lucid moments remind him of his children and how his behavior affects them.

[quote=“meg, post:3, topic:14756, full:true”]
Thank you for your response, Getting him to agree may be hard because he does feel so strongly about what he calls (his truth) it can get very verbally abusive . How do you get someone to go to the hospital to seek help without forcing the issue?

Hi Meg,