SZ and Overlapping Disorders

Hi! This is my first time posting, so hello to everyone and thanks in advance for your feedback. :blush:

Does anyone’s loved one suffering with SZ also struggle with overlapping mental and/or personality disorders? I believe that my loved one is, but am not too sure if their earlier narcissistic symptoms were actual narcissistic personality disorder (as previously diagnosed) or were just the prodromal stage of SZ.

I’ve known my loved one my whole life, ever since I reached an age where I developed the ability to analyze another’s behavior, they have been manipulative, grandiose, paranoid, and depressed. They have recently been given the diagnosis of SZ after their first psychotic break.

It’s been extremly hard to be supportive, because while I feel terrible for them and want to be there to help in all ways possible, I can’t help but feel highly suspicious of their actions and comments and feel as if I am being manipulated. I know a person’s personality doesn’t necessarily change because of the SZ, and if they were funny or manipulative or selfish or artistic before the disease hit, they will remain as so, but I was hoping someone has experience in dealing with SZ and overlapping personality disorders.

A lot of what my loved one says sounds almost rehearsed, I still feel like I’m being mentally and emotionally toyed with for their personal gain. I truly want to be there for this individual as I do love them very much and they have always been an important figure in my life, but I’m scared of them. I know they need a supportive environment and I try my best to supply it, but I feel as if I’m being conned nearly 90% of the time. I’ve been living with tremendous amounts of guilt because of my suspicion.

Has anyone had any experience with NPD and SZ?

Thanks so much for reading, I’m so grateful I discovered this forum. It’ll really help to have some support with this new diagnosis.

2 Likes