SZA + Coronavirus =?

Hey all,
How are all of the caregivers out there balancing (or not!) with care-giving & Coronavirus? Are you ok?

I don’t know about y’all but I am burning out hard. I can’t see an end to anything. My spouse has been struggling with his SZA, and I am a public school teacher in a state with a climbing deathrate and several hotspots. My spouse’s doctor’s office has been a dumpster fire-- back in March they closed and transitioned to telehealth appointments, and said “we regret that we cannot complete any paperwork at this time.” Took me 2 months (TWO MONTHS) to get his disability paperwork completed, and he almost lost his job because the dr’s office was not responding to our phone calls or HR’s requests for communication. This office management is bad enough that my husband’s doctor is leaving the practice, so we are now in the process of finding another doctor.

I know about “self-care” and how it’s supposed to work, but there’s just nothing left for me. I don’t even have the energy to be pessimistic! I am not sad or upset. I hope I am tricking everyone around me-- I don’t want anyone to know that I don’t have any hopes for the future anymore. I am just robotically trying my best. I know seeing a doctor and a therapist are good ideas, but my husband’s medical needs take priority, and we can’t afford more, especially right now.

1 Like