You have to be forgiving

my son has caused me heartache over the years…he has paranoid schizophrenia…he has been a nightmare to live with…he has caused countless arguments and aggression…hehas spat in my face…he has lived the life of a “bum”, sleeping in homeless shelters…he last had a job when he was 20, but quit that due to mental ill health

he has splintered relationships in our family and has put a strain on our marriage…

but I have to forgive him…he didn’t ask for this illness…

he eventually found the right med combo and has been stable for th elast 7 years…our relationship has improved greatly

for the rest of you, remember sz is an awful illness that our kids never asked for, but forgiveness helps heal

12 Likes

@cara, When my son’s beliefs and delusions get to be too much, I’ve allowed myself to step away from it all, for 1 day, 2 days, maybe even a week. This is something I’ve never done before, but it’s working for both of us. I just need to “recharge” and “reset” myself. Day to day tediousness of being a caretaker is just too much. I also notice “when I come back”, he is more receptive to a more normal conversation.

This job takes and drains any energy you may have, and we must have the patience of a saint and wear a shield of armor at all times for whatever may come at us on a given day. We always have to expect the worst, and hope for something decent.

I’m so happy your son has been well for 7 years. I really hope my son “settles” a bit more as he gets older.

And for mothers (and fathers, husbands, wives, brothers and sisters) out there who have been doing this for 10, 20, 30+ years, (being the sole caretaker), you’re amazing!

4 Likes

Yes, we need to see the person first, and not the illness. The illness is NOT the person!

3 Likes