I love my husband, but I feel so alone!

I’ve been married to my husband for 6 years. I knew about his sz when we met, but the past year has been really tough. He just came home from his third hospitalization, and he still not doing well. My friends and family try to be supportive. But they don’t truly understand. I’ve looked for a support group, but there aren’t any in our area. I would really like to find someone that I can talk to, that understands. I’m tired of people telling me I should just leave him!! He’s my husband and he’s sick!!

1 Like

good on you for sticking by him… :heart:
take care :alien:

@darksith. Thank you very much. I’m new to this and appreciate the support.

You’re a very kind person for going with someone with a serious mental illness!

Why have things gotten worst this last year? Has he stopped taking his meds?

Anyways, good luck!

I am diagnosed with Paranoid Schizophrenia, but am also married (I’m male). My wife has been with me through a lot of my psychosis and all the crap that comes with having this shitty disease. Good for you to help your loved one through this. It’s normal to have days where it’s overwhelming, but many people with sz end up homeless because of lack of a support network. We’re still human, and you don’t abandon someone unless there’s a threat of violence or other extreme circumstances.

this is a good site for information and support…
take care :alien:

The last clinic he was going to was horrible! They canceled on in all the time, and when he did go, it was a video chat with a Dr in another town! (I don’t mean to be rude, but if you have someone who already hears voices and hallucinations, is that really a good idea?!) Then the clinic closed down. At the time, he was doing good, so trying to get him to go somewhere else was fruitless. He just kept saying he was fine. It’s like trying to convince someone without cancer to take chemo. If he didn’t feel ‘sick’ why did he need the meds… It’s such a vicious circle!!