Needing support and an ear

Hello! This is my first time posting. I have been taking care of my 27 year old son, since he was diagnosed 7 years ago, and medically discharged from the service. He recently moved out into his own apartment, for the first time. At first, it seemed like a positive change, and he was happy to be “on his own” (with my supervision) for the first time, since returning home from the military. Since then, things have gone down hill. His delusion frequency has increased, and it has freaked him out so bad, that he has shown up at my bedside multiple times in the middle of the night for comfort. He has seemed to gain some insight into his delusion through all of this, and while he is not calling it a delusion (rather a demon), he has decided that he no longer wants it in his life. This “demon” tries to convince him that he needs her, from time to time, and he has other “visions” in his struggle to rid himself of her.

Being alone, and having unlimited free time, seems to not be helping. Unfortunately, he not able to focus more then 2 hours, to get a part-time job, and have something else to think about and focus on. He takes his meds regularly, and is on the highest dose he can have. Any suggestions?

1 Like

Well, he’s med-complaint, so that’s good. I suggest you take him back to the psychiatrist and change his medication because obviously whatever he is currently on is not working for him. Just keep trying until you get the right meds and he’s stable or cured someday.

He has been back. The meds seemed to be working, until he moved out and was alone.