Paraonia- 17 yr old

I am new to this. My 17 yr old daughter is experiencing severe paranoia and delusions. It is worse in the evenings. She has taken Risperdal, Geodon and is now on a new medication regimen with Abilify. Can anyone share their experience with paranoia (fear people can come in the house and do things, see her on computer, hear her on the phone, etc) and what medications worked best.
Also, does anyone have any resources in the DFW Texas area with a physician/facilities with expertise in schizophrenia. If not, can anyone suggest resources outside the Texas area.

Thank you

As far as paranoia, mine used to amp up in the late after noon and evenings too when the meds were waning and I was getting tired. Her paranoia seems pretty normal from my experience. (I know that sounds odd. Sorry) Having your computer, phone, room bugged is a fairly common fear. Feel free to read the diagnosed section… many of us get this and more at times.

For me, I am med compliant on a Seroquel/Latuda mix with some Xanax for panic. The less I panic, the less paranoia I have. Also, I couldn’t do this on meds alone. I have been in Cognitive Behavioral therapy, stress management, panic workshops, family therapy. I needed both meds and therapy to get a handle on everything.

I was 17 when my head circus really amped up and I crumbled. There is also a lot of growing and hormones and just life that has to happen as well as getting a handle on the SZ. It might get worse before it gets better. But sooner then later and as many resources as possible on this is a good idea.

Have you looked at the NAMI site to see what is offered in your area? Also, maybe a day hospital, a support group, a therapist can also give you some ideas and a starting point.

I hope you find a support group for YOU as well. You’ll meet other care givers and get a vast amount of ideas. Good luck