Should I just leave him alone?

I am reaching out to those who might understand, might be able to give me answers that dont sound like he knows what he is doing, he doesn’t care about his kids, he is evil. No one understands but at times me neither.
I have been in a relationship with a man for 22 years from being 18. He always showed signs of paranoia saying they told me where you were, I know you were with him. He has never shown aggression or violence you could just tell the thoughts tormented him. We have 3 children 21, 17 and 14. We have brought the kids up well together 2 are studying law and I am a manager in the nhs. He smoked cannibals for many years so I put it down to this for many years and I suppose it was self medication for a long time. He has left me a few times saying I was with someone else would stay in shared accommodation and terrible living then come back after 2 weeks saying he did t want to feel like this. Then he stopped smoking around 4 years ago and that’s when it all started.
He asked me if I could hear the sounds that people make. I found some messages he sent to an online solicitor around 3 years ago asking for help for the people that follow him. He said someone was posting things on a website about him with many followers. Said this one man from work was against him and was getting people to cough or whistle when he was there because he used to smoke and lied. He said he couldn’t go to the same place more than once. Said they would wait outside with there noices. He says they track him by his car as this man posts pictures of him and his car. Said it’s the neighbours and everyone as soon as he leaves his door. He says its also racially motivated, he is black and moved to this area from a city area when we met.