Family and Caregiver Schizophrenia Discussion Forum

Tips for Keeping Patience

Hello! I am new to all of this, I have just gotten home from what can only be described as a disastrous interaction with my ex-husband, and father of my children, who is a unmedicated bi-polar schizophrenic. I am at my wit’s end, and don’t feel that there is anyone in my life who I can really talk to, who can listen with any kind of objectivity… my ex-husband and I have been divorced since 2014… I left him, back then, not due to his mental illness, but due to his drug addiction. He’s been on hard drugs since he was 11 (now 36) and I’m sure that that is a contributing factor to what happened to him. He was diagnosed as schizophrenic the next year. His family will have nothing to do with him, and despite feeling a lot of anger and resentment towards him, I have come to see, over the past few years, that the problem is deeper than, as his father puts it, him just needing to pull himself up by his bootstraps. He is in and out of prison, and I admit its a relief, when he is in prison, because I know that he is getting fed, and that he won’t freeze to death, etc… he has deteriorated pretty bad in the past year, refusing to take his medication, having full conversations with nonexistent people, continuous tics and gestures, very paranoid, accusing random passersby of whispering that they are jealous of him, that they are watching him, going to kill him. When I can afford it, I try to help him, getting him hotel rooms, paying for cell phones that he continuously loses, and so on and so forth… my family and friends just see this as my own enabling of a drug addict, there isn’t a lot of understanding about the mental illness factor, they just put it down to him being on drugs, despite my continuous explaining that I have picked him up from hospitals and jails, from the DOOR, knowing he hasn’t had time to drink or take anything, and he acts the same way… I try to explain that they wouldn’t expect m