Treating me like a child

So here goes, I’m going on ten years with my husband, the love of my life. Some days are fantastic. Others make me borderline suicidal. Today was a bad day. I screwed up, handed him some tin foil that had grease on it to clean the grill, he called me a stupid bitch as I was repeatedly apologizing for grabbing what I thought was new foil. This escalated from there and he laid down to sleep, I rubbed his back, thought everything was good, but I didn’t get the dishes clean because I was trying to let him sleep and I kept dropping silverware which I felt was being rude, so I stopped downing the dishes and sat down to watch the kids and keep them quiet. This caused another argument on top of my inability to prepare foods properly, which I’m still learning. I’ve been called stupid and a child repeatedly and now I want to break down and cry, but I know that will look like a guilt trip. I’m lost.

Your husband should not use mental illness as an excuse to be verbally abusive. None of this sounds related to psychosis; it sounds mean and abusive.

3 Likes

No one should tolerate verbal abuse from anyone - illness should not be an excuse. Stay safe

3 Likes

Oh boy, I can relate. My loved one has been verbally abusive also, when in the midst of psychosis. Ordinarily they don’t treat me or my sister like that but when we don’t react to their delusions as if we’re just as afraid as they are they don’t take it well. They interpret it like we don’t believe them, we’re not listening or taking them seriously, and we get called names and treated very disrespectfully to put it mildly.

I am still trying to figure out how to navigate this illness but I have a zero tolerance policy for abuse. Every time it happens I tell E it’s not ok to speak to me that way. Calling me names is unacceptable and I won’t continue the conversation. I hang up the phone or leave the room.