Looking for a support group for the first time

My mom has struggled on and off with psychosis for the past 12 years (I’m in my mid-20s). She is a single mom and we don’t live close to other family so I’ve kind of been her main caregiver. She does fairly well when she is on medication but every few years she goes through a period of refusing to take it which is incredibly difficult. This just started happening again recently and I feel like I can’t deal with this on my own anymore. I spoke to a counsellor recently who told me I should try to find other family members/caregivers that I can connect with and get support from which I’ve never done before so I am looking forward to being part of this forum community. The counsellor also said with covid going on, there might be some virtual support groups going on, so if anyone knows of any, I guess let me know. I don’t live in a huge city so not many local schizophrenia resources here.

Hey throwawayheal, so glad you found us, so sorry you had too. This is an excellent forum for questions, exchange of information and resources. Sometimes just being able to vent in a place where others won’t judge and certainly understand the struggle that is the reality of life with a loved one with a MI. (If you haven’t lived it, you just don’t know.) Sometimes it’s advice we share, sometimes it just support in the hard times. Great group of contributors from all over the world, different backgrounds, different cultures and belief systems, many walks of life here. One thing we all have in common is that we have a loved one with a severe Mental Illness. My suggestion is to take some time reading through the older threads and posts. Tons of sharing of thoughts and great resources and info is here.