'Til Death Do Us Part: Married to an SZ

I have been with my husband for over 20 years, 13 of those years in marriage. There was a time when things were normal: we did things together, dined in restaurants, had a business together…all of the normal things a married couple do. About 6 years ago we lost our business, our apartment and all of our money and ended up living with his parents. It was a stressful move and his parents didn’t make it an easier with the way the acted towards us; we were like unwelcome guests that they never met before. My in-laws are extremely dysfunctional people to put it nicely! After 2 years of living there and my husband dealing with the stress, he had his first psychotic break down at 44. (Now I have to tell you that when I was 9, my father had a severe head injury and was also diagnosed Paranoid Schizophrenic, so I have some experience living with this prior to my husbands diagnosis.)

I cannot tell you how devastating it was…I was speechless and didn’t understand where the delusions and paranoia came from. I was beside myself and after dealing with it for about 4 months, I finally called someone and had them come to the house and evaluate him. They took him to the hospital and admitted him into a psychiatric hospital the following day. He was gone for about 3 weeks and came home, angry at me of course because I had him “committed”, but he was better than when he left. That was the first time and there have been 2 more incidents since then and one of them led to a 5 month stay in a state psychiatric facility only for him to come out and stop taking his meds 4 months later. He just got out of the hospital again last week after a 7 day stay. He seems better and swears he won’t go off his meds again, but I doubt he will stick to it. Although, this time he is acknowledging he has a mental illness.